Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Review: City of Ashes ~ Cassandra Clare

Title: City of Ashes

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy

Copyright: March 2008

Pages: 496

Source: Publisher

Series: Mortal Instruments Series, #2

ISBN-13: 9781416914297

ISBN: 1416914293



Welcome back to the exotic world beyond the shadows...

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace.How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?


Whoa, baby! City of Ashes is a breathtaking sequel, to Clare's 2008 epic debut, City of Bones! City of Ashes is a powerfully written adventure that holds on to your senses & fails to let go. This is 3D reading come to life in the form of the written word. Whew!

The action in City of Ashes is much more foreboding & the momentum is unrelenting, Clare delved deeper into her writer's arsenal to produce this phenomenal follow up. Ms. Clare's got skills and this definitely proves her debut wasn't a "fluke.

City of Ashes proves w/o a shadow of a doubt, Clare didn't succumb to the dreaded "sophomore slump" so many writer's often end up tangled in. *Applause* Applause*

Clare's well developed characters are a smooth blend of ruthless, vibrant, manipulative and courageous beings. Blockbuster proportions enfolded inside 496 pages of tantalizing goodness is what City of Ashes transmits.

I have to say, that there is a revelation to the series that totally grosses me out but for some reason, I think there is much more to this divulgement than what was disclosed.

City of Ashes launches the story arc into the stratosphere with the second installment of Clare's Mortal Instrument saga.

Check out Clare's fabulous website here!

♥ & Respect Books ~ read often & help others to do the same =9.

2009-2010 © The Book Resort ~ All rights Reserved Worldwide

Monday, April 12, 2010

Review: Guilt by Association ~ Susan R. Sloan

Title: Guilt by Association
Author: Susan R. Sloan
Pages: 544pp
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Release Date: January 1996
ISBN-13: 9780446603065
ISBN: 0446603066
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Source: My Personal


From Barnes & Noble

In 1962, when Karen Dern was raped by a young man from a wealthy, powerful family, no one believed her. Now, 30 years later that same man is about to become America's next president...unless Karen can find some way to get her story heard.


Sloan's powerfully scribbled debut is a compelling story that left me paralyzed w/ fear, filled w/ rage & empowered!

Sloan knows how to write dynamic novels. It is still one of my wishes, for Sloan to once again grab her laptop to share her gift w/ the world. It has been far too long since Sloan released a new page-turner.

Guilt by Association is a POWERFUL read. In 1962, Karen, an innocent, intelligent, beautiful collegian is barbarously assaulted in New York's City's Central Park by a Harvard Law student she has just met @ a Christmas party.

Sloan skillfully juxtaposes Karen's disturbed evolvement during the years w/ her professional triumphs & a candid peak behind-the-scenes of California political aspirant Robert Willmont, Karen's vile rapist.

Sloan's characters are inimitable & well developed. The supporting players have their own riveting voice.

Guilt by Association
is absorbing from the beginning & remains tight as it winds to an enthralling finale.

♥ & Respect Books ~ read often & help others to do the same =9.

2009-2010 © The Book Resort ~ All rights Reserved Worldwide

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Review: Between Husbands & Friends ~ Nancy Thayer

Title: Between Husbands & Friends
Author: Nancy Thayer
Pages: 320pp
Format: Mass Market Paperback
ISBN-13: 9780312974220
ISBN: 0312974221
Release Date: January 2001
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Source: My Personal Library


Lucy met Kate when they were both young wives and mothers. In the years since, the two women and their husbands and children have become inseparable, spending every August together in a house on Nantucket. Lucy and Kate, each other's most trusted confidantes, have shared their secrets, from the mundane to the shocking--but there's one explosive secret that Lucy has kept to herself.As August once again approaches, Lucy must confront the truth she has kept hidden all these years. Now, in the midst of an unexpected family crisis, she must make a decision that could shatter all of their lives.


This was my first Nancy Thayer read. I loved the setting. It was the setting, Nantucket, that piqued my interest because the plot seemed to be a bit too "been there, done that" for me. What can I say, I am a book snob (let's not even wonder if it spills over into my personal life... my blog is a reflection of me in many ways... ;p). LOL!

Lucy & Kate BFF... The drama free friend & the one bringing all the drama...

You know, the difference between day & night type friend? Yet it just works... similar yet different but it all connects. Yep, that's the relationship between Lucy & Kate.

It took me a bit longer to warm up to Lucy, but Kate was a slam dunk! Lucy & Kate were inseparable. They were more than friends -- more like sisters from the heart. They shared secrets, blended their families and every August spent their time on Nantucket.

Thayer did an incredible job of weaving together the tapestries of their lives. Thayer's noteworthy narrative vacillates between the couples' present & their linked past is impressive.

Between Husbands and Friends is a poignant work of fiction that not only touches but nests inside your heart.

LQQking for a gripping read for the beach -- Thayer penned the one to read while slathered in SPF as the waves roll in & out. Between Husbands and Friends is a tale loaded with deceit, secrets, loyalty and the true bond of friendship.

Check out Nancy

♥ & Respect Books ~ read often & help others to do the same =9.

2009-2010 © The Book Resort ~ All rights Reserved Worldwide

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Review: Under the Boardwalk ~ Carly Phillips

Title: Under the Boardwalk

Author: Carly Phillips

Series: Costas Sisters Series, #1



Pages: 304

Release Date: July 2005

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Genre: Romance

Source: My Personal Library

Music playing: Feels Like Tonight ~ Daughtry



Ariana Costas may be a college professor in Vermont, but she's still a Jersey girl at heart-at least according to her lovable, eccentric Greek family. Then her twin sister, Zoe disappears
and her Jersey roots tug hard. Soon Ari is back home, ducking bullets and, to her chagrin, getting rescued by a hunk in a black leather jacket. Detective Quinn Donovan takes one look at the windblown beauty-and then looks again. If this lady isn't Zoe Costas, it's someone who looks exactly like her. Suddenly, Ari's in trouble deeper than the Atlantic at high tide, and Quinn is trying to protect her without spilling his well-guarded secrets ... as déja vu just might become the love affair of a lifetime.


Fun! What a quirky cast of characters. I laughed so much my sides ached. Phillips definitely knows how to blend humor, hi jinks & searing heat into 304 pages.

Brava, Ms. Phillips for bringing on the smoldering sexual intensity. Whoa, baby!

Under the Boardwalk weaves together a tapestry that is rich w/ lovable, eccentric & vibrant characters. The action is endless & the plot fast-paced.

I loved Ari & Quinn. Spicy... spicy now! Oh, I'm sorry, Quinn came to mind ;p. Whew! Is it hot in here?! It is 29 in NY so... it's gotta be Quinn :9. Thank you, Ms. Phillips, for bringing the sizzle!

Let me say, just because Ari hails from 'Jersey doesn't mean she is a generic version of Plum. Nope, she is definitely a vivacious character who is no one's second banana! I'm not into the Plum series but have read enough to say nahhh!

Under the Boardwalk is a charming, hilarious adventure not to be missed.

With the warmer weather approaching, Under the Boardwalk is definitely one to be added to your summer beach reading list (if you can hold off) :).

Check out Carly's website here!

2009-2010 © The Book Resort ~ All rights Reserved Worldwide

Monday, February 22, 2010

Winter Escapes Widget

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Review: When Dreams Bleed ~ Robin Cain

Title: When Dreams Bleed
Author: Robin Cain
Pages: 366
ISBN-13: 978-0984289806
ISBN: 0984289801
Release Date: December 2, 2009
Publisher: Empty Nest Publications
Genre: Mystery w/ a twist of Romantic Suspense
Source: Robin Cain
Music playing: Billie Jean ~ Michael Jackson


He’s amassed money, success, and is now accumulating women, but someone out there thinks he’s gone too far.

Who is seeking revenge and why? His wife? His mistress? Or the shadow who’s been following his every move?

Just when he thinks he has anticipated his opponent’s next move a tragic car accident leaves him paralyzed, his life’s work is being stolen and his wife has disappeared. Just how far will someone go to teach him the correlation between deception and despair?


First I want to start off this review by saying I read this incredible page turner three times. Yes, three! Why did I read the prolific Cain's knockout debut (Hmmm... not certain I buy this is a debut from the taut, well delivered suspense de force, but it is Ms. Cain's first novel ~ or so she claims. Who am I to say. I mean, it's her story & she's sticking to it! Psst!I still think she is a literary grand dame using a pseudonym. LOL!).

When Dreams Bleed definitely showcases that Cain is a star rocketing the stratosphere.

Cain pulls you in & leaves you holding your breath from the first page. When Dreams Bleed is a well-crafted novel that doesn't need to go for over the top histrionics to weave an intriguing tale. Cain's innovatory thriller builds to a spine-tingling crescendo w/o losing rhythm.

I was mesmerized by Cain's savvy storytelling abilities. In a word: imaginative.

When Dreams Bleed is definitely going to place Cain high on the rank of novelists who create riveting mysteries. Cain's characters are intriguing, authentic three dimensional beings that explode like a Shakespearean play.

Brava to Cain for skillfully penning a lean, swift & captivating plot that doesn't give up as it reaches the end. Let's see how fast you turn the pages ;).

When Dreams Bleed is as gripping as a Sandra Brown novel. All I'm saying is, Cain has the talent to nip @ Brown's heels! I love Ms. B but competition is good for the creative soul.

Cain's symmetry of romance & machinations is a delicious blend of cunning!

When Dreams Bleed is deftly plotted w/ a twist that Cain pulls off as completely viable & ingenious! Now, you know why I reread it 3x's!

1. Blown away.
2. Wait a sec.
3. WOW!

Grab a copy of When Dreams Bleed but if you start it in the evening... plan on staying up all night long!

Visit the terrific Robin's website & blog!

Follow Robin:


Order When Dreams Bleed here or from Amazon!

Shout out to my Tia Nora for the tip on this breathtaking novel! Besos y abrazos!!!

***Warning! Holding your breath while reading this taunt thriller will definitely be detrimental to your health! The Book Resort & Robin Cain are not liable for any readers keeling over!***

All content © The Book Resort 2009-2010

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Review: Too Hot To Sleep ~ Stephanie Bond

Title: Too Hot to Sleep

Series: Harlequin Temptation (Blaze) # 787

Author: Stephanie Bond



Pages: 224

Release Date: June 2000

Publisher: Harlequin

Genre: Romance

Source: My Personal Copy




Nurse Georgia Adams can't sleep - and it's got nothing to do with the local heat wave. She's got a lukewarm boyfriend, a nonexistent love life - and she's frustrated, really frustrated. So she decides to take the edge off by calling her boyfriend for a little phone flirtation--and a lot more! Only, she doesn't realize she's dialed the wrong number!


Police officer Ken Medlock can't sleep, either-his libido is in overdrive thanks to his sexy midnight caller. He's captivated by her voice - and when he meets and recognizes her the next day, he realizes he has to have her in his bed-not at the end of his phone line. But first he has to convince Georgia that her wrong number has turned into a very right connection...


Scorching! Fiery! Searing! Blistering! Sizzling! How do we spell the incomparable Stephanie Bond's, Too Hot to Sleep?

Let me start off this review by saying, Stephanie Bond is one of my absolute favorite authors. She can write anything & it is juicy, riveting & difficult to put down. Bond's books are like chocolate ~ a delicious, wicked pleasure! I keep a stash of her books around for emergencies sorta like breaking the glass moments. Bond is definitely a must read author, an auto buy & the girl to go to when I am in a reading slump or just in a petulant mood.

Stephanie Bond is a gifted writer who not only has a way of making you fall in love w/ the hero -- Bond makes you ache to be the heroine.

Meet Nurse Georgia Adams. Georgia is in an apathetic relationship w/ her boyfriend. She definitely needs a dose of sultry to bring the sexy back. Georgia decides to take the advice of a friend & calls her lukewarm boyfriend late @ night & begins what she believes is a way to make their relationship pop... some harmless, tantalizing phone sex. What she doesn't realize is that her calls have been going to the wrong man. Uh oh! Can we say whoops?!

Enter sexy Officer Ken Medlock, Ken is awakened by a sensuous voice on the phone... a voice that's cooing to him that she isn't wearing panties. Ken is jolted wide awake by this juicy tidbit. He's extremely overwhelmed by this seductive call & is too bewildered to enlighten the smokin' femme fatale that she's dialed a wrong number. Let's not forget, he is absolutely loving every single moment of this mix up.

I don't want to ruin your fun @ reading this charming romance by giving away too much. I will say I would love a sequel...

Psst! I am even willing to bribe the awesome Bond w/ delectable chocolates. *Hint*Hint*.

Bond's writing muscle simply radiates w/ her vivacious, intriguing & feisty characters. She is a genius @ displaying each character's viewpoint. Brava to Bond for making the heroine & hero easy to connect with. The sparks ignite & Georgia & Ken explode. Boom Boom Pow!!!

You definitely need to cool yourself down w/ lots of ice water, the a/c or just head out into the frigid air to cool down. Trust me on this ;-p

Too Hot to Sleep is definitely a must to have on your shelves.

Read an excerpt here

Check out the absolutely awesome Stephanie Bond's website